The Bulgarian authorities have added 14 European Union and Schengen Area Member States to the red list of countries that have been profoundly affected by the Coronavirus in recent weeks. This means that travellers from these areas to Bulgaria now face additional entry restrictions.

The decision was announced by the Bulgarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and becomes effective on Tuesday, November 23.

The countries added to the red list are as follows:

  1. Andorra
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. The Czech Republic
  5. Denmark
  6. Germany
  7. Greece
  8. Hungary
  9. Iceland
  10. Ireland
  11. Liechtenstein
  12. The Netherlands
  13. Poland
  14. Switzerland

The move means that travellers from these 14 countries, as well as from the other countries on the red list, are banned from entering the territory of Bulgaria starting from November 23.

However, Bulgarian citizens and nationals of the EU and EEA countries can enter Bulgaria from the red list countries if they hold a valid digital EU COVID-19 certificate proving that they have either been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or recovered from the virus recently.

Those reaching the country for essential purposes as medical staff, heads of states and members of governments in official positions, seasonal agricultural workers and workers in the field of tourism, etc., are also permitted to enter the country under the same rules.

Those who do not hold any of the two should present negative PCR tests results. The test must be no older than 72 hours before arrival in Bulgaria, and it must be certified by a valid EU digital COVID certificate for testing or a similar document with the same data as the EU digital COVID certificate.

Travellers from countries in the latter category are subject to the obligation of quarantine for a period of ten days.

Currently, part of the red list are also Armenia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Namibia, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and Zambia.

5 More Countries Added to the Orange List

At the same time, Bulgaria has added Finland, France, the Principality of Monaco, Portugal and Moldova to the orange list of countries. Previously, the first four were listed in the green category, whereas Moldova was part of the red category.

Starting from November 23, only travellers who can present a valid EU COVID passport for vaccination, for recovery from the within the last 180 days negative test results, or of a similar document containing the same data as the EU digital COVID certificate can enter Bulgaria from these countries.

Bulgarian citizens, residence permit holders, and members of their families can enter without showing any of the documents above, but they are subject to the obligation to quarantine for ten days.

Part of the orange category are all other countries that are not listed in the red and green categories.

Only 7 Countries Remain Part of the Green Category

Whereas in the green category remain the Vatican City State, Luxembourg, Denmark, Italy, Spain, Malta, Sweden.

All travellers from these countries can enter restriction-free if they present an EU COVID Certificate or another certificate equivalent to it.

Those who do not hold such a certificate are obliged to quarantine for a period of ten days, which can be avoided if the travellers test negative COVID-19 PCR test within 24 hours of arriving in the country.

>> Travelling to Bulgaria Amid COVID-19 – Everything You Need to Know

Source Link


Brasov-Romania News To Your Inbox!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.