The Council of the European Union has updated the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, for the residents of which the Member States are advised to gradually lift travel restrictions.

On the latest update, which took place on October 8, the Member States are urged to lift the entry restrictions on travellers from Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates, after, in the recent weeks, both countries marked a drop in the number of Coronavirus cases recorded in their territory.

“Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates were added to the list,” notes a press release of the Council, issued today.

With the two ned additions, the list of epidemiologically safe third countries, for the residents of which the EU countries should gradually abolish the travel restrictions at the external borders, starting from October 8, consists of the following:

  1. Australia
  2. Bahrain (new)
  3. Canada
  4. Chile
  5. Jordan
  6. Kuwait
  7. New Zealand
  8. Qatar
  9. Rwanda
  10. Saudi Arabia
  11. Singapore
  12. South Korea
  13. Ukraine
  14. United Arab Emirates (new)
  15. Uruguay
  16. China (including Hong Kong and Macao), subject to confirmation of reciprocity

According to the same press release, the list is not binding, and the Member States are free to remove the entry ban at the external borders for travellers from countries that are not listed above.

“Non-essential travel to the EU from countries or entities not listed in Annex I is subject to temporary travel restriction. This is without prejudice to the possibility for member states to lift the temporary restriction on non-essential travel to the EU for fully vaccinated travellers,” the Council says.

The list of safe third countries is updated by the Council every two weeks, or as the case may be.

In the previous update that took place on September 23, the Council advised the Member States to add Chile, Kuwait and Rwanda to the list and remove Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The update before that, which took place on September 9, saw Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei Darussalam, Japan, and Serbia being dropped from the list while Uruguay was added to it.

Source Link


Brasov-Romania News To Your Inbox!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.